Confessions of a Bibliophile











{June 30, 2009}   Gee, I wish it was chocolate

Some of you may have heard this story on the air yesterday. For those who didn’t, here goes. I know a boy. Said boys name is Chris. Yesterday was his 25th birthday, which reminded me of a story.

When Chris and I were in 1st grade I brought in chocolate cupcakes with chocolate icing for my birthday. When I walked up to Chris’s desk to give him his cupcake he informed me that he was allergic to chocolate. Little 1st grade Brittany was very sad about this. SO! The next year, not-quite-as-little 2nd grade Brittany brought strawberry cupcakes with strawberry icing for her birthday just so little 2nd grade Chris  could eat one. When I walked up to Chris’s desk to give him his cupcake he said to me, “I wish this was chocolate.”

CAN YOU BELIEVE THAT?!?!!? Still to this day, 19 years later when I think about my birthday that is one of the very first memories that pops up.

With yesterday being Chris’s birthday I told that story on the air. Luckily, my pal Rikki, who is also Chris’s torturous friend heard this story and thought she better do something about it.  As a result the following picture was taken and dubbed THE OFFICIAL CHRIS DARLAGE BIRTHDAY PHOTO OF 2009.

Chris Darlage Happy Birthday, Chris!!! And a HUGE thanks to Rikki for picking on him relentlessly. It’s Karma Chris. Karma.

That story made me sad and I’ve heard it several times before…Little First Grade Brittany was probably nicer than 3 year old plastic curling iron hating Brittany though right?



She was apparently MUCH nicer. She gave up chocolate for someone else! =D



Leave a Reply

et cetera
